Julia Kristeva – Power of Horrors

Julia KristivaJulia Kristiva

There is no doubt that this is a heavy going book by the Bulgarian-French philosopher – Julia Kristeva. A lot of this book was beyond my grasp when I read it back in 2007. However, there were moments within it where I felt my brain click and reading this passage was one of those; it changed my outlook on life in an instant:

“These body fluids, this defilement, this shit are what life withstands, hardly and with difficulty, on the part of death. There, I am at the border of my condition as a living being. My body extricates itself, as being alive, from that border. Such wastes drop so that I might live, until, from loss to loss, nothing remains in me and my entire body falls beyond the limit.” Julia Kristeva, Power of Horrors, 1982

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

